Assam CM urges MPs to create cooperative societies in their constituencies »News Live TV» Assam

Guwahati: The Chief Minister of Assam, Dr Himanta Biswa Sarma, on Wednesday held a meeting with the deputies of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in Guwahati regarding the upcoming local elections.

“We decided to work to secure victory in the polls. I have asked all MPs to create a cooperative in their constituency and create a brand, ”said the Chief Minister.

Local elections in Assam are scheduled to take place in 2022.

In an effort to enable the representation of women in the governance and decision-making process, the Assam cabinet decided to amend the Assam Municipal Act 1956 to give women reserves for 10 years.

Speaking to Twitter, the Chief Minister wrote: “Attended a @ BJP4Assam Legislative meeting of the Party at the party headquarters to discuss development issues. I asked all our MPs to prepare for the next municipal elections and advised them to form cooperative societies in their constituencies to encourage Atmanirbhar Assam.

Also advised MPs to spend time with their parents during government-mandated special leaves for employees January 6-9, 2022. BJP State President Shri @Bhabesh_KalitaR, NE BJP Gen Sec (Org) Shri Ajoy Jamwal ji & State BJP Gen Sec (Org) Shri @ PhanindranathS3 were present, ”added Chief Minister Sarma.

According to the chief minister’s office, the cabinet also decided to make an amendment to the 1969 Guwahati Municipal Corporation Act to extend the tenure of women in direct elections to the post of councilor for up to 10 years. the society.

The Bharatiya Janata Party-led National Democratic Alliance (BJP) won a comfortable majority in the recent Assam Assembly elections, winning 75 seats out of a total of 126 constituencies.

The BJP won 60 seats, while its allies Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) and United Liberal Party (UPPL) won nine and six seats respectively.

Congress succeeded in securing 29 seats while its “Mahajoth” allies AIUDF won 16 and the Bodoland Popular Front won four. The Indian Communist Party (Marxist) won a seat.

Virginia S. Braud